Custom Search

Charging for Re-Downloading Apps Was a Bug?

Posted by Yenova | Saturday, June 13, 2009 | | 0 comments »

Several weeks ago, Apple was charging some developers with the iPhone 3.0 Beta for re-downloading apps on the iPhone and iPod Touch. AppAdvice reports that they may have found out what was causing this issue:

In the final release of iTunes 8.2 last week, Apple included some logic that tells a device what iTunes accounts are authorized on the computer. Many users that were using the beta releases of iTunes were not prompted with an available update and found no reason to upgrade. Those users’ devices were never getting the authorization information to pass on to the App Store when they tried re-downloading apps.
They have also spoke with an Apple developer at WWDC and found out that:

All of this was just a simple bug in the system. We decided to not just take their word for it, we tested all the possible scenerios we could think of and in all cases we were presented with the pleasant “You have already purchased this item. To download it again for free, select OK” message. We can confirm that repurchase option no longer appears in any instance.



Post a Comment